Search Stories by: 

News, Industry News, Safety, Education, Training

Articles from EDUCATION & TRAINING (289 Articles), OH&S - EQUIPMENT & SERVICES (249 Articles), ENVIRONMENT PRODUCTS (175 Articles)

Hanson won a national CCAA award for its ripper boot change-out stand in 2014.
Hanson won a national CCAA award for its ripper boot change-out stand in 2014.

Deadlines loom for enviro health and safety awards

Final nominations will soon close for a national industry awards program that celebrates innovation and best practice in environmental health and safety.

The National Environmental Health and Safety (EHS) Awards are held annually by Cement Concrete Aggregates Australia (CCAA) in order to highlight best practice in environmental management and occupational health and safety within the construction materials industry.

The competition, which operates independently in each state, encourages individuals, project teams and companies to demonstrate how they have raised the bar for EHS at their quarry or cement/concrete plant. State winners are additionally considered for two national awards on a biennial basis, which are presented at the Construction Materials Industry Conference (CMIC).

The most recent national awards were awarded to Boral and Hanson at CMIC14, which was held in Brisbane in September last year. Boral was named the national Environmental Innovation Award winner for its development of an inexpensive, safe and reliable water treatment system at its Eagle Farm concrete plant in Brisbane. Hanson claimed the Health and Safety Innovation Award for its ripper boot change-out stand and winch handling system, which was developed at its Central Coast sands quarry in New South Wales.

“Both these winning projects typify the sort of innovative thinking that is occurring at plants and sites around Australia,” CCAA CEO Ken Slattery commented. “These awards are an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the industry’s commitment to continual improvement, and to share these lessons right across the industry and beyond.”

While nominations have already closed for a number of states, Western Australia and Victoria will be accepting submissions until 28 May and 29 May respectively.

State winners will be announced at industry events held across the country until August. The first of these will take place in Tasmania on 15 May.

IQA Awards

In other industry awards news, the IQA is inviting nominations for the 2015 IQA Awards. These annual awards recognise individual IQA members for their educational accomplishments or for their exceptional work in the quarrying industry.

A total of 12 awards are available this year, including awards for training excellence, best technical paper, demonstration of lean principles, and continuous improvement, among others. The deadline for all IQA Award nominations is 31 August, 2015.

IQA award winners will be announced at the 2015 IQA National Conference, which will be held at the Adelaide Convention Centre from 14 to 17 October.

More information
2015 CCAA EHS Awards
2015 IQA Awards

More reading
Quarry innovations take out national EHS awards
Industry conference puts productivity in focus

Sunday, 23 September, 2018 08:55am
login to my account
Username: Password:
Free Sign Up

Receive FREE newsletter and alerts

Display ad Delux
Display ad Delux
Display ad Delux