Industry News, News, Supplier News

IQA Awards 2021: Nominations now open


The Institute of Quarrying Australia (IQA) is now taking nominations for the 2021 IQA Awards, which highlight the industry’s merits in education, innovation, community engagement, environmental management, safety and creativity.

The IQA Awards will be presented as part of the IQA’s National Conference from 5-7 October, 2021.

All current IQA members are permitted for award nominations, while a non-member is permitted to be the nominator.

IQA chief executive officer Kylie Fahey told Quarry the awards represent an opportunity to recognise the achievements of the industry, while setting a positive example for peers to follow.

“Awards are really important for an industry,” Fahey said. “They do a number of things. They recognise the contribution of innovations and good practice to the overall industry.

“Sharing innovation and good practice on safety and environment will only improve the industry as a whole, and if you’re looking at individual awards that’s about individual contribution to an industry and a business.

“Awards really recognise industry sectors and showcase some of that innovation and progress.”

Fahey said that peer recognition from a nomination can also lead to improving work culture and performance.

“There’s a lot of research that points to how recognition of your peers and recognition of your teams within a business can improve culture, performance, morale,” she said. “Awards are one tool that people can use to do that.

“Just the process of nominating peers can be very powerful. The awards give an opportunity for managers, business to be recognised by their teams and their peers.”

Historically IQA Award winners have benefited from substantial prizes that have supported professional development and travel to international quarry events and overseas study tours. Through generous sponsorship this year’s IQA Awards will again offer great prizes.

The award entries are this year expected to showcase how companies have responded to COVID-19-related changes to working environments.

“We’re coming off the back of a very interesting period of social connectivity as a result of COVID and I really encourage people to take the time and nominate people and recognise people,” Fahey said.

“It’s an opportunity for businesses to take stock of what they have been achieving in unusual circumstances and that team and peer recognition is really important.”

Nominations will close on Friday 6 August, 2021 at 5.00pm AEST, with the winners to be finalised in September.

The 2021 IQA Awards include:

The Alec Northover Award (sponsored by AIQEF)
Acknowledges IQA members who have completed study and received a qualification in Certificate III, Certificate IV, Diploma or Advanced Diploma in surface extractive operations. Prizes include a framed certificate and an allowance to attend the IQA conference.

Gold Hard Hat Site Safety Award (sponsored by IQA)
Recognises a site’s contribution to the advancement of occupational health and safety in the quarry industry. Prizes include a framed certificate and an engraved gold-plated trophy.

Gold Environment Award (sponsored by Groundwork Plus)
Presented to a site that has contributed to the advancement of environmental management through areas including exceptional quarry rehabilitation, a new or improved pollution control method and displaying environmental awareness and leadership. It also includes a framed certificate and an engraved gold plated trophy.

Quarry Manager of the Year <10 FTE (sponsored by Metso Outotec)
Highlights an individual quarry manager with demonstrable achievements within the quarrying industry, who has less than 10 FTE. Prizes include a framed certificate plus $3000 contribution to a professional development opportunity.

Quarry Manager of the Year >10 FTE (sponsored by Metso Outotec)
Highlights an individual quarry manager with demonstrable achievements within the quarrying industry, who has more than 10 FTE. Prizes include a framed certificate plus $3000 contribution to a professional development opportunity.

Quarry Operator of the Year (sponsored by RTV Training)

Recognises a quarry operator with demonstrable achievements in the quarrying industry, including a personal commitment and leadership in occupational health and safety and demonstration of broad industry knowledge. Prize includes a framed certificate and support to undertake accredited training.

Excellence in Innovation and Community Engagement (sponsored by Cement & Aggregate Consulting)

Recognises an individual’s contribution to excellence and innovation in the quarry industry, including outcomes in community engagement and consultation. The contribution can be for innovation in design, production, operations, automation, plant design, maintenance or processes as a single event or for a longer term contribution to improvement over a period of time.  Prizes include a framed certificate, trophy and a contribution for an approved professional development activity.

IQA Conference Exhibitor of the Year
Awards a supplier/sponsor with the most creative and engaging exhibition and involvement in the IQA 2021 national conference. Prize includes a framed certificate.

President’s Medal
Given to an applicant with outstanding and ongoing service to the extractive industry that shows leadership and the advancement of the industry. Prizes include a framed certificate and inscribed medal.

For more details about the 2021 IQA Awards, visit the IQA website:

© All Rights Reserved. All content published on this site is the property of Prime Creative Media. Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited