Events, Industry News, News

Women in Industry Awards announce inaugural category for 2021

young member network


The annual Women in Industry Awards have added a new prize to their list of accolades for 2021 – The Woman of the Year award.

Quarry magazine is this year partnering with various Prime Creative Media (PCM) umbrella titles  to acknowledge the exceptional women who have achieved success through their invaluable leadership, innovation and commitment to their sectors.

These may be women you work with, women whose achievements are inspiring you from afar, or women who are providing you with invaluable guidance and support.

The Women in Industry Awards recognise outstanding women from across the industrials sector – whether they work in quarrying, mining, road transport, manufacturing, engineering, logistics, bulk handling, waste management, rail and infrastructure.

The Awards comprise the following categories:

  • The Woman of the Year.
  • Social Leader of the Year.
  • Rising Star of the Year.
  • Business Development Success of the Year.
  • Industry Advocacy Award.
  • Safety Advocacy Award.
  • Mentor of the Year.
  • Excellence in Manufacturing.
  • Excellence in Mining.
  • Excellence in Engineering.
  • Excellence in Transport.

Most of the above awards are individually sponsored, with sponsors to be announced in coming months. The Awards are currently being supported by Atlas Copco, BOC, and BAE Systems, with ifm as the platinum sponsor.

The inaugural Woman of the Year Award will be sponsored by ifm, whose products provide sensing, networking, and control technology for the automation of a wide variety of processes.

Rachel Ashfield, from ifm, who took home the award for Business Development Success of the Year in 2020, will be an ambassador for the 2021 awards.

In a forthcoming column for Quarry, as well as other PCM titles – Australian Mining, PACE, Manufacturers’ Monthly, MHD Supply Chain Solutions, Prime Mover, Trailer, Waste Management Review, Rail Express, Roads & Infrastructure Australia and Australian Bulk Handling Review – Ashfield writes that in her role as ambassador, she is encouraging other women to nominate for these awards to receive recognition for their efforts to to build strong, well-defined and durable businesses.

“Women bring alternative viewpoints and experiences to a business which often fosters creativity and change,” Ashfield says. “Yet the career pathway for women can be quite challenging, especially in an industry that is not highly represented by women. The Women in Industry Awards give you an opportunity to highlight key aspects and career defining moments of your many years of success and dedication.”

The awards are judged by a panel of seven industry professionals, which last year consisted of six females and one male. Returning on the panel this year are Kylie Fahey and Christine Gibbs-Stewart, the respective chief executive officers of the Institute of Quarrying Australia (IQA) and Austmine.

For more information about the Women in Industry Awards, visit

IQA Awards 2021

The IQA is also taking nominations for its 2021 IQA Awards, which siimilarly highlight the quarrying industry’s merits in education, innovation, community engagement, environmental management, safety and creativity.

The IQA Awards will be presented as part of the IQA’s National Conference in Newcastle, New South Wales from 5-7 October, 2021.

All current IQA members are permitted for award nominations, while a non-member is permitted to be the nominator.

Historically IQA Award winners have benefited from substantial prizes that have supported professional development and travel to international quarry events and overseas study tours. Through generous sponsorship this year’s IQA Awards will again offer great prizes.

Nominations will close on Friday 6 August, 2021 at 5.00pm AEST, with the winners to be finalised in September.

The 2021 IQA Awards include:

  • The Alec Northover Award (sponsored by the Australian Institute of Quarrying Education Foundation).
  • Gold Hard Hat Site Safety Award (sponsored by IQA).
  • Gold Environment Award (sponsored by Groundwork Plus).
  • Excellence in Innovation and Community Engagement.
  • Quarry Manager of the Year <10 FTE (sponsored by Metso Outotec).
  • Quarry Manager of the Year >10 FTE (sponsored by Metso Outotec).
  • Quarry Operator of the Year.
  • IQA Conference Exhibitor of the Year.
  • President’s Medal.

For more details about the 2021 IQA Awards, visit the IQA website:

More reading

IQA 2021 Awards: Nominations now open

Send this to a friend